2020-21 Maryland JUCO All-Academic Team Announced

2020-21 Maryland JUCO All-Academic Team Announced

Written By: MD JUCO Sports Information

The Maryland Juco Athletic Conference has released its 2020-21 All-Academic Team, a list that features 165 different student-athletes from 15 schools and 14 sports. Thirty-eight students achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA. 

Frederick Community College leads the way with 22 student-athletes, followed close behind by CCBC Essex (21) and Hagerstown Community College (19).

A total of nine schools are represented in double-figures, including Harford Community College (17), College of Southern Maryland (16), Carroll Community College (12), Garrett College (12), CCBC Catonsville (11) and Howard Community College (11).

Anne Arundel Community College, Allegany College of Maryland, Cecil College, Chesapeake College, Montgomery College, https://www.mdjuco.org/awards/All_Academic_Team_2020-2021.pdf and CCBC Dundalk all had student-athletes make the team as well. 

Baseball was the sport with the highest number of honorees with 48. Garrett and Southern Maryland baseball student-athletes accounted for nine each, as Frederick contributed seven. CCBC Essex, Cecil and Chesapeake each had five.

Men's soccer had the next most honors with 33 and women's soccer had 27. Frederick and Carroll led the former with eight apiece, while CCBC Essex and Hagerstown the latter at seven each.

Softball also had double-digit student-athletes with 16. CCBC Catonsville and Anne Arundel lead with four each, as Frederick and Hagerstown each had three. 

Other sports represented include women's volleyball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's basketball, men's lacrosse, men's golf, men's and women's track & field and men's wrestling.  

Maryland Juco All-Academic Team honors are awarded to those student-athletes who have participated in at least one sport for one season while achieving an overall grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. First-year students must have earned at least 18 credits, while second-year students must have earned at least 42 credits to be eligible for the award.